Shipova Trees in Australia?

I recently read about the shipova tree in Uncommon Fruits for Every Garden by American writer and “farmder” Lee Reich and was wondering if anyone had tried growing shipova trees. As Reich puts it: “Although shipova (X Sorbus auricularis) is a fruit that has been known at least since the 1600s, it is rarely planted. It is one of those rare intergeneric hybrids, in this case between European pear and whitebeam, a relative of mountain ash. It resembles a small, yellow pear in appearance— somewhat rounded with a red blush on the side kissed by the sun. The flavor is also pear-like but with a little something special, as well as a most pleasant meaty texture.”

I’m interested in hearing from anyone who has grown this tree, and especially keen to know about any Australian suppliers. There’s an interesting account of their place in one garden by Larry Rettig in Dave’s Garden blog, but so far I haven’t been able to find any evidence of their availability in Australia.

3 responses to “Shipova Trees in Australia?

  1. I know of a tree in the wild here. I believe it was planted by an older gentleman many many years ago. My property had one tree but I removed it not knowing what it was. My former and deceased mother-in-law had a Shipova in her back yard. However she didnot know what the tree was. I remember seeing a tree in the wild many decades ago. I strongly disagree with a website which claims the first tree was brought to the United States in 1959. I can account many years before 1959 as seeing a Shipova tree at an old abandoned stage deopt and tasteing the fruit. I remember thinking of just how persimmion-like the unripe fruit was.

  2. Thanks for this Guy. I’m going to keep trying to find one in Australia. Have been to South Carolina, though mostly just the Myrtle Beach area.

  3. I agree that the Shipova must have come to America nearly as early as the settling of this great country. I remember seeing another one of these trees at an old outpost( stage site) also. This was well before 1959. I remember biting into and puckering up at the unripe fruit. And, I remember wondering about the small fruit size. Now, this is taking into consideration that the tree and fruit I am discussing is a Shipova.

Leave a Reply

